He’s home!

I don’t know if this is surprising or not, but I am not kidding at all when I say that (on days when I am not involved in the carpool) when A gets back from a day at Sudbury Valley School, it feels pretty much EXACTLY as it did as it does when a parent gets back from work back when you were a kid, or a friend (college housemates), or my spouse. They were missed, and now they are back, and that is pretty much it. I mean, often they are interested in talking about their day and/or I want to hear. But often not. Upon returning back, one sometimes need to shift gears, decompress, whatever. Time to do something else. It’s all life. It’s not ANY different. He is living his life and I am honored to be able to share it with him! Sure, I am still the parent and with that comes a slight difference in some aspects, but not really in this situation, this moment. Maybe this is how all parents feel when their kids return from a traditional school, but I bet not completely since there is homework and grades and MCAS and all that stuff.

Anyway, it feels right.

Here’s how a former student puts it… a little more eloquently:

“Sudbury Valley was just “life” for ten years. It was everything… I woke up in the morning and said, ‘I’m going to school and I’m living life. This is my life and I’m in it.'”

(from “Reflections on the Sudbury School Concept”, 1999, page 125)
I’m sorry, but that is so amazing!

Related:
Play Is Life
Khalil Gibran “Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.
They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.”
[snip]

Leave a comment

Filed under Sudbury Schools and Sudbury Valley School

Comments are closed.