Inside the world’s best kindergarten

Sorry, I’m not talking about Fuji Kindergarten
http://ideas.ted.com/inside-the-worlds-best-kindergarten/

I’m talking about Sudbury Valley School.
http://www.sudval.com/06_sudb_09.html

Except it’s not just a kindergarten. It’s also a pre-school, elementary school, middle school, junior high and high school.

Sudbury Valley School does an even better job at this! All ages 4-19, more wild nature, no classes for “the boy in the corner” to run away from (as the TED presenter put it.) Etc.

I think it’s actually kinda sad… the jokes the TED presenter makes about feeding the animals (kids) who are lined up behind the railings like they are in an animal cage. Because really, they sorta are. It looks a lot like a stereotypical prison yard depending on how you look at it. Looks to me like there is a lot of herding kids going on there. And the poor kids… all trying to play on the limited (not really climbable) trees. Better than no trees… but still.

I know, I know… we are ALL just rats in a cage you could say. But it’d be interesting to see what a full day is like here, rather than a few photos. I should look for a video.

And I realize the school appears to be in an urban area (Tokyo?) so it’s not like it’s particularly easy to magically have huge open fields, a pond, a stream, big swingsets, a basketball court, etc. like SVS. But I still bet there are probably urban schools that are even more free. That’s my main beef I guess.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sudbury Schools and Sudbury Valley School

Comments are closed.